Kentucky Gets One Freshman Back So Far

Posted: April 19, 2011 by Bacon in Kentucky Basketball, Outside the Ville
Tags:

Kentucky Freshman guard Doron Lamb released a statement today saying he will return to Lexington for his Sophomore season next year.

“Last season was an unbelievable run for me and my teammates, winning the SEC Tournament and advancing to the Final Four.” Lamb said in a release. “Losing the last game against UConn was tough, and I don’t want to end my college career with that feeling.

“With the guys we have coming in next year, I know we have the talent to make another run at a national title. I want to help bring a national championship back to the Big Blue Nation because I know they’ve been waiting too long. I’ve enjoyed my time at Kentucky, playing for Coach Cal and his staff and I’m not ready for it to end.”

The 6’4 shooting guard averaged 12.3 points per game last season and led the SEC in three-point percentage at 48.6 percent a game. UK fans still wait for the news on fellow Freshman Terrence Jones and Brandon Knight, as well as Junior DeAndre Liggins. Players have until April 24th to make their decisions.

Calipari released a statement regarding Lamb’s decision,

“Doron has the opportunity to improve greatly with an additional year in college. A lot of players have opted to return to school, which made it a tougher decision for him. Not only does he gain another year of maturity and school work, but he now has the chance to put in the extra work to elevate his game. I’m excited to have him back.”

Leave a comment