Do the Cards need a Diva?

Posted: June 20, 2011 by kysco in Louisville Basketball
Tags: , , , , ,

This article was written by Kelly Patrick, a contributor with KentuckySports.co.

Cher, Barbara Streisand, Beyonce and Rodney Purvis. These are the first names that come to my mind when I think of the word “Diva” these days.  Being that Purvis announced he is not longer considering the Cardinals (or the Cats) it has me wondering: Do the Cards need to recruit the same types of guys that Cal goes after? Or can we leave that up to UK and instead focus on bringing in multiple top 100 players who can come together and play as a team.

This is not an attack on Rodney Purvis, for all I know he may be the greatest kid on the planet, and regardless of him being a good person or not, I’d be lying if I said I wouldn’t welcome him to become a Cardinal even after all of this drama (i.e. Kevin Ware).  This is instead me wondering if the Cards should avoid guys who seem to be known as being the #1 player in their high school class or even the #1 player at their position in their high school class. I think a championship can be built without having these types of players and I would argue that more often than not the national championship teams are built from good (above average D-1) players who have an edge and who take pride in being good team players instead of having the proverbial “one foot in the NBA” the entire time they are with their respective university.

Need I remind you that Michael Jordan was cut from his high school team and that after years of being slighted (in his crazy competitive mind) he was still seemingly very bitter while being inducted into the Basketball hall of Fame in 2009.

Would Michael Jordan have won all of those Championships and won all of those MVPs if he had been praised from a young age like Lebron James or any other “Top Recruit”? I’m not suggesting that a guy like Kevin Durant, Carmello Anthony or even John Wall can’t win a national championship during their one year on the collegiate level (obviously at least Carmello could), instead I am asking: Are the Card’s better off if they avoid these types of guys? I look forward to your responses.

Leave a Reply

