IKE’S CORNER

Posted: March 15, 2011 by the IKE MAN in Freak Stuff

# 5…This is a guide for the casual NCAA basketball fan and games to watch in the 1st round…March Madness begins on St Patrick’s Day….that, in itself,  is as cool as Clint Eastwood …Yes, I already have the day off… So these are the 1st round games I am looking forward to…East Region…George Mason/Villanova—The Wildcats struggled at the end of the season…but the team I remember is good…Syracuse/Ind St….cuz I know Larry Legend is watching his squad…West Region…Mich/Tenn…Two football schools with something to prove (plus, its prolly our last time seeing Bruce Pearl)…Ariz/Memphis….I love Sean Miller and I actually haven’t watched Memphis (besides the playoff bound NBA Grizzlies)….Southwest Region…Vandy/Richmond….I just enjoy listening to Skip Bayless talk about his Commodores….Louisville/Morehead St…I havent watched Kenneth Faried (top rebounder) live this yr…Southeast Region…Wisc/Belmont…Heck, Belmont has 30 wins!!!….UCLA/Mich St…OK Izzo, you got a break…Now lets see what you got…

FAB 5 and RUNNIN’  REBELS

If you haven’t seen these two documentries, set the DVR now….the FAB 5 doc (ESPN) was amazing…(except for the fact that Chris Webber didn’t participate)…Seeing and hearing what some Wolverine fans wrote in letters about the players was shocking…Jalen Rose was as honest (like it or not) as anyone could be….the RUNNIN’ REBELS doc (HBO) was great too…We forget how exciting those early 90’s teams were…but the talking heads they interviewed (Jimmy Kimmel, Jerry Tarkanian) really put into perspective how great a time it was for basketball…I personally never had seen a player like Larry Johnson before that…I watched my first UNLV game in the back room at Charlie’s…Some things you never forget.

my favorite # 5 ‘s

Jalen Rose,  Wayne Turner,  Jerry Eaves,  Travis Ford, Robert Horry, Jason Kidd,  Kevin Garnett, 


Leave a Reply

