Okay it’s After Midnight somewhere right now!

Posted: February 12, 2009 by cftv in Outside the Ville, Posted by Chris Kull

I take requests and John asked me to find a killer After Midnight for the TV show and I have kulled(pun intended) this from the vast archive from youtube of the Dead’s 7/23/04 show from St. Louis of them covering After Midnight with Warren Haynes on vocals.

I only saw two shows of the tour and heard most on disc and thought they were good in spots and bunk on others. I am really Warrened out with my Grateful Dead so his choice of being in the Dead who are hitting the road in April and May are dragging the joy of hitting 4 shows in my limited vacation window. I like Warren but I am just kinda sick of Warren with the Dead. Maybe because I saw him perform 6 o 7 times last year I am tired of him With the practically across the board 100 dollar a ticket cost w/fees and w/o at some venues it is putting a bit of a damper of going and seeing my favorite band of all time coming back to play again. Word is Phil doesn’t want to to tour as much as the man is pushing 70 and this could be one of the Last Times that Phil will want to tour nationally with the boys because of his advancing age. I could see him still doing runs every year in the Bay and in NYC where he bought a nice pad so he can be close to where one of his kids is going to Princeton. Of course there was BS back in the date that Phil was going to retire from the stage in the late 80’s and early 90’s and he addressed it on the mic and said it was a bunch of BS and here he is still playing today so I hope I am wrong.

I am sure if I keep my ambtion to do this blog thing I will be pulling clips from youtube of the recenet Dead and Phish shows while looking to the stars asking for the return to the Cheese who give me some good song songs and slick tranced out funk jams that get my bones a moving.

Here is the audio link to the only GD show I ever saw w/Jerry when they did the Last time: \”The Last Time\” Grateful Dead 6/27/95 The Palace of Auburn Hills

And as an addendum here is a link to the whole show where the Last Time comes from for your own streaming/downloading pleasure!

Band/Artist: Grateful Dead
Date: June 27, 1995 (check for other copies)
Venue: The Palace
Location: Auburn Hills, MI

http://www.archive.org/details/gd1995-06-27.fob.schoeps.unknown.larson.35123.flac16

Set 1

Greatest Story Ever Told ->
Bertha
New Minglewood Blues
Ramble On Rose
Queen Jane Approximately
Lazy River Road
Eternity ->
Don’t Ease Me In

Set 2

Victim Or The Crime ->
Foolish Heart
It’s All Too Much
Corrina ->
Jam ->
Drums ->
Space ->
The Last Time ->
Standing On The Moon ->
Sugar Magnolia

Encore
Liberty

Leave a Reply

