The Saga Of Kevin Ware Continues

Posted: April 29, 2011 by Bacon in Louisville Basketball, Outside the Ville
Tags: , ,

The recruitment of Kevin Ware apparently still continues. Since the firing of Tennessee head coach Bruce Pearl, the 6’4 guard has de-committed from Tennessee. Then he committed to Central Florida, followed by rumors he would de-commit from UCF and play in the Derby Classic. He played in the Derby Classic but Ware ensured all local media that he was still going to Central Florida.

The was until last night apparently. Ware, who is ranked as the nation’s No. 56 college basketball prospect by Rivals, told the Atlanta Constitution Journal that as of Thursday Night he was reopening his recruitment once again.

“There’s a lot of stuff going on right now, personal stuff that I don’t really want to speak about right now,” Ware said. “I spoke with my family about everything, and I decided it was time to back off on UCF.”

Ware had committed to UCF just one day following an in home visit from Louisville coach Rick Pitino and says now that Louisville and Georgia are the “frontrunners”. Ware says he has not spoken to Pitino or Georgia coach Mark Fox though since he announced UCF as his choice last week. 

“I talked it over with my family, and there’s a lot of personal stuff that I need to get figured out before I decide on any school that I want to go to,” Ware said. “I’m just tired from everything. I’m just going to focus on my schoolwork because without my grades, I can’t get into any school. Once I get my final grades in and know what schools are recruiting me, I will definitely have my choice made up then.”

Since Ware signed a letter of intent with Tennessee, according to NCAA rule s he can not sign another LOI with-in the same year. Basically he can commit and de-commit all he wants until he attends a school’s class.

Leave a Reply

